USCG Memorial Service MLB Triumph, Mermaid and Sea King 2012

The Triumph as she appears on our shipwreck chart

The 52 foot MLB Triumph as she appears on our shipwreck chart Dead Reckoning of the Pacific Graveyard

From Jeff Rusiecki, CPO USCG RET.

“The Memorial Service for the USCG MLB Triumph, F/V Mermaid, F/V Sea King, and the USCG UTB 41332 will be held on Saturday, January the 14th, 2012. The time for the service is set for 10 am.
People wishing to attend are asked to meet in Ilwaco, Washington, at the Cape Disappointment Coast Guard Station on the Mess Deck prior to the start of the service.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nwlimited.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/uscg-memorial-service-mlb-triumph-mermaid-and-sea-king-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Who do you get in contact with about memorial service set for Jan 2011???? First time going and would like to get more info.Anybody??? Renato Sussex brother of Gordon Sussex crewmember of Triumph. Email renandxoc@att.net Also trying to find out whom to talk to about compass that was from Triumph,has been with Sussex family for many decades, would like to have put in Museum

    • Hi Renato, this is Gary Hudson, I had communicated with you earlier. About the compass, you might also consider the USCG Museum in Seattle. I am sure they would like to have and display it.

      Gary

      • hello chief hudson, you were my very first boss in the coast guard on the confidence in kodiak in 1976, you was the deck dept head chief, good to see you arte doing good, and even wrote a book, Im buying a copy by the way. About the time you retired in 1979 , i got out on my fist enlistment, and stayed 16 more and retired in 1996. Man we are all getting old. Have a good day Marion danna.

  2. Is this memorial entirely open to the public? I am Greg Morris niece (KIm Morris was his sister, my mother) and we are trying to contact any one who was on the UTB 41332 when it turned over. Anyone who knew him or knew the family. We will be there…thanks!

    • not sure if you will get this, but Greg and I were very close and stationed together at Westport. I am reading your post on the 34th aniversay of their death.

  3. This is Gary J. Hudson BMC Ret uscg. Yes, the memorial is open to the public. Dan Peckham who knew the people on the 332 will be at the service.

    • Dan Peckham is my father.

  4. I wish i would have known earlier of this memorial i am greg morris’s son which mary morris is trying to find

  5. Im gonna try and get there that day is it open for anybody right

    • Justin, I just found this and just read you message via USCG forum today, I am so sorry you have been trying to get a hold of me. Will you be at this memorial? My mother and I went last year, btw the memorial stone at Cape D has Greg’s name spelled wrong, its a huge dissapointment to me and my family (but I guess you can’t expect much from a place named Cape Dissapointment) Any way, I maybe can make plans to go again.
      Mary

  6. Yes, the memorial is open to anyone

  7. Is it Saturday the 14th or Sunday the 15th? You have it listed as Sunday the 14th, which isn’t the correct date. Please update so we can make plans thank you!

    • Hi Mary, it is the 14th according to the information we received from Jeff.

      That would be Saturday at 10 a.m.

      Liz

  8. I AM BM3 JUSTIN KEMSLEY AND I FOUND THIS ON THE WEB. I WAS DRIVING THE 41332 THAT NIGHT AND WOULD LIKE TO SHARE THAT NIGHT WITH THE FAMILY MEMBERS IF YOU WERE WILLING TO HEAR IT. yelsmekjay@live.com

  9. Hi folks Im part of ceremony and it is Tomorow, the 12th (the anniversary date of the incident) and the muster time is 1000 at the base galley, I hope you all get this. 360 281 8798 if u need info.

  10. The 2014 Memorial Service date has been set for Sunday January 12th, 2014. We will once again gather on the Mess Deck at the Cape at 1000. Please feel free to contact me if you need additional information.

    Jeff Rusiecki, USCG CPO Ret.

    jeff_rusiecki@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

